Stay at the ScenePosted on: February 5, 2020
According to FLHSMV, or the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles , when a driver leaves the scene of a crash, the consequences can be grave, depending on a degree of outcomes. For example, Florida Statutes confirm that leaving the scene of an accident when there is property damage would be treated as a second degree misdemeanor with “up to” 60 days of prison time as well as a $500 fine. Should someone have been injured in that accident, and the driver takes off, that action becomes a third degree felony with a revoked license and “up to” 5 years in prison. But taking that one step further, if a driver leaves the scene and there is a fatality, that decision constitutes a first degree felony and a mandatory sentence of four years in prison, possibly up to 30 years. In other words, regardless of how terrifying a bad accident may be, FLHSMV insists you stay at the scene.
If you or someone you love has been the victim of a wrongful death, a personal injury, or a motor vehicle accident, please contact the law offices of Beers and Gordon P.A. for a free consultation. Our firm serves all of Seminole, Orange, Volusia, Lake, and Brevard counties, including Oviedo, Winter Springs, Altamonte Springs, Sanford, Longwood, Winter Park, Lake Mary, and Greater Orlando. Our attorneys have over 50 years of combined experience ready and willing to go the distance on your case. Call us right away at 407-862-1825.