What is the Florida No-Fault Law?Posted on: October 17, 2016
Every automobile in the State of Florida requires, at the very least, a form of liability insurance called Personal Injury Protection, or PIP. The purpose of PIP has been to ensure that drivers, if they are injured during an accident, can receive quicker compensation through their own insurance company for medical expenses up to $10,000, regardless of who is at fault. Since 1971, when Florida became the second state to introduce these “No Fault” laws, the legislature has modified several iterations of PIP, but the gist has long been the same.
Florida Personal Injury Protection was originally rooted in the Automobile Reparations Reform Act of 1972. The law altered liability coverage from being voluntary to being compulsory. But one legal study, conducted in the same year as the law took effect, conceded that compulsory insurance would not equate to universal coverage. At the time, it was estimated that 76% of Florida drivers were already insured with some form of accident protection. But as of 2012, that number seems only to have reached 78%. In other words, Florida drivers are still largely covered with their own No-Fault Personal Injury Protection, but an alarming number of drivers remain uninsured.
If you or someone you know have been involved in a motor vehicle accident or suffered any kind of personal injury, please contact the law offices of Beers and Gordon P.A. for a free consultation. We service the Greater Orlando area including Seminole, Orange, Volusia, Lake, and Brevard counties. Our attorneys have over 50 years of combined experience ready and willing to go the distance on your case. Call us right away at 407-862-1825.