Should I call my insurance company if I’m in an auto accident?

Most insurance companies require their policyholders to inform them of an accident, regardless of fault. But keep in mind that you should never give a statement to the insurance company for the at-fault party. If you are contacted by an adjuster for the at-fault individual’s insurance company, tell him or her to speak with your Read More

What if I am Injured by an Out-of-State Driver?

Florida remains one of the highest states for tourism in America. As a result of this business, Florida sees millions of out-of-state drivers cross its borders each year. In most cases, out-of-state drivers carry insurance from their home state, which is almost always different than the required coverage for Florida. But if you or someone Read More

Reagan on Compensation

Had he still been alive, February 6 would have marked the 107th birthday of Ronald Reagan, the 40th President of the United States. Reagan was often praised as a fiscal conservative whose heart was big enough to match his cautious rhetoric. In 1984, responding to a bipartisan push to change workers’ compensation laws in an Read More

How Much is the No Fault Provision?

The No Fault provision is essentially an agreement between all Florida insurance companies and the Florida Legislature. Under the provision, insurance companies are required to provide a certain level of coverage for their insured if they are involved in an automobile accident, regardless of fault. In exchange, the victim of an auto accident can only Read More

Do I Need a Police Report to File an Automobile Accident Claim?

After an accident, particularly one that involves little damage and seemingly no injuries, the parties involved have a tendency to avoid the nuisance of a third party. It’s the I’m-fine-you’re-fine-the-cars-are-fine-we’re-all-fine-so-lets-just-go argument. No police. No claims. Maybe just an exchange of numbers. It’s like it never happened. But then you drive home and realize there is Read More

Tally of Irma Claims

Over the past two weeks, the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation has been keeping up with and sharing county by county insurance claims as they fall into the public record. The latest data shows that more than 400,000 Florida homeowners (including mobile home property owners) have filed a claim with their insurance agents as a Read More

Full Coverage

When it comes to auto insurance, like most states, Florida has mandatory coverage requirements. But unlike many states, this coverage is minimal. Within the State of Florida, drivers are required to carry $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability Coverage (PDL). Essentially, what this means is that you are covered Read More

Do I Really Need to Speak with an Attorney?

Personal injury claims are often long and complicated and insurance companies employ an army of adjusters and lawyers to protect their interests from prospective plaintiffs. If you are involved in an accident that is caused by the negligence of another person, that person’s insurance company will assign an adjuster and very likely a lawyer to Read More

Insurance Awareness Day

Having your car properly insured should always be at the top of your priority list when it comes to buying a new car. Things like Personal Injury Protection (PIP) are required, but then there are other recommended coverages like Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Bodily Injury Liablity (BIL). But what about the car you’ve been Read More

The Minimum Threshold

For quite some time, Florida residents have gotten familiar with our no-fault system. Residents also know that it is required, by law, to have personal injury protection, or PIP, paying upwards of $10,000 regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Anyone wishing to pay additional dollars for bodily injury coverage is asking for Read More